Santa’s cookies tradition

AUNT CINDY'S CROCHET

Tell me, who (with children) doesn’t leave cookies for the big man?

I’ve seen plates with “Cookies for Santa” which is cute but when I found this fillet crochet pattern for a placemat  (from Crochet patterns by Herrshners, November/December 1988, no longer in publication, if interested, let me know and I will figure out a way to share it with you) I couldn’t resist.

Last year I crocheted one for my nephew’s son.  This year my niece’s daughter is old enough to begin the tradition as well so I opted to crochet one for her as well.  Now I know children probably don’t believe in Santa as long as they used to and there are also parents who would rather not “feed” this belief but, come on, they are only children for so long and should be able to hold onto that innocence.  My eldest nephew, when he found out…

View original post 265 more words

What are you having for dinner?

