Chicken, Cucumber Salad and Homemade Oven Potato Chips

image

Well, hallelujah!  My kitchen redo is finished and I can cook in there again! 

While the kitchen has been in a bit of shambles, it didn’t stop me from buying groceries.  So, you got it, I am back to focusing on eating what I have rather than heading out to a local restaurant.

For tonight’s dinner I started by cleaning and slicing a large red potato thinly with my mandolin; then  soaking the slices in water to get rid of some starch.  While they were soaking, I peeled and sliced a cucumber; using my trusty mandolin as well.  The cucumber slices were added to some vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper and set aside for a bit.

Back to the potatoes, which were drained, patted dry then tossed with olive oil, crushed rosemary, sage, thyme, salt and pepper in a ziploc bag, then placed on a foil-lined cookie sheet and baked at 400* for 30 minutes.

While the potatoes where in the oven, I made the chicken by coating it with olive oil mayo then tossing it in flour seasoned with rosemary, sage, thyme, salt and pepper.  The chicken was pan fried  in an iron skillet with olive oil.

I added a bit of mayo to the cucumbers and let them marinate while everything else was cooking. 
Tonight my timing was perfect; chichen finished cooking within a couple minutes of the potatoes being ready.

What are you having for dinner?

