Locks For Love – The Day I Donated My Hair

Cancer – It has impacted every one of us in some way shape or form.  I would bet that you personally know at least one person, if not more, that have taken on this personal battle.

I consider myself lucky, thus far, not to have had this terrible disease; but I know oh so many that have. (including my Dad)

For so many years now, I have always wanted to donate my hair to make wigs for those who lose theirs because of the treatments they have had to go through.  I have wondered, what would it be like to lose all your hair?

Well, today, I – sort of – found out.  Today I had 10 inches of hair cut off to donate to Locks For Love.  Locks For Love makes wigs for children who have lost their hair due to cancer treatments.

 wpid-IMAG1892.jpgPre-cut picture.  It looks Like I have really long hair, but in reality – I barely had enough to make the 10″ limit to donate.

wpid-IMAG1893.jpgJessica, my hair stylist did a great job getting the most hair off my head, using multiple ponytales.

wpid-IMAG1895.jpgAnd then the cutting ensued.  No turning back

now!  wpid-IMAG1897.jpgYIKES!

wpid-IMAG1896.jpg

wpid-IMAG1898.jpg

Almost all gone!

wpid-IMAG1900.jpg

This is what I had left.

wpid-IMAG1902.jpg

We were really surprised at how good my short hair looked, even before the styling cut was done.  As “traumatic” as such a hair cut can be, this isn’t about me; I will have a great hair style going forward (and my hair will grow back)

what is important is that this

wpid-IMAG1906.jpg

will be sent off in the mail tomorrow to Locks For Love to be made into a wig for children who have lost their own hair because of cancer treatment(s).

Want to learn more about Locks For Love?  Visit their website at www.locksforlove.org  Ops!  I got the website wrong!  visit www.locksoflove.org

A BIG thank you to my hair stylist – Jessica Williams at Josephine’s Day Spa – for helping me make this donation, as well as all that staff at Josephine’s who were so supportive in my endeavor.

Lastly, to the little girl who watched in awe as I had my hair cut off.  I hope she remembers this and is inspired herself to donate her beautiful dark brunette hair someday for a child without hair because of cancer.

3 responses

  1. Wow. So much admiration for you, what an inspiration! I don’t have ten inches of hair but I suspect I would be too vain to lose it all, even for such a worthy cause. Many people close to me including my husband, father and mother in law have had, or died from, cancer. I do my tiny bit by donating by direct debit each month – the coward’s way to help!

What are you having for dinner?

