Homemade marshmellows, some day I am going to give this a try.

CutterLight

From-scratch always seems to taste better than store-bought. Marshmallows are a sticky but fun example.

An early Saturday morning and terrific step-by-step instructions, including helpful photographs, were the ingredients I needed to check something off my “try-to-make-from-scratch” list – marshmallows. Holy cow, these are messy and delicious! It took almost two hours to make them and about a half an hour to clean up, but there are no complaints from me. I think a stand mixer and candy thermometer are non-negotiable for this project. Normally, I play around with a few recipes and try to come up with something on my own. This time, I followed the Hungry Mouse’s instructions to the tee. What delicious fun for a Saturday morning!

Homemade Marshmallows

Ingredients

  • 5 tbsp unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups cold water (1 cup for the gelatin and 1 cup for the sugar syrup)
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 cups light corn syrup

View original post 818 more words

What are you having for dinner?

