Beef Shish Kabobs

My neighbor Mary was telling me how, when they grocery shop, her hubby, John, heads for a certain area in the meat department.  The corner area where they have the meat that has been marked down for quick sale.  There isn’t anything wrong with the meat, it is usually just a couple of days away from its “sell -by” date.  If he finds anything that they would use in there, he snatches it up and freezes it when they get home for use in the near future.

Now, many folks are “confused” about “sell by” vs. “use by” dates.  “Sell by” dates means the stores need to sell the food by that date, but it is still good beyond that date.  A “Use By” date, on the other hand, is an indication of the date when an item will most likely “go bad” and should not be used after that date.

So, Sunday I did my grocery shopping, and remembering the comment from Mary, I headed over to the corner refrigeration section where the “quick sale” meats were located.  They actually had some nice selections of beef and pork.

I picked up a package of beef shish kabobs, which I normally would not do, I would make these on my own at home, but hey, they were on sale for a great price (Under $4 for 2 kabobs), they looked great, and I was in need of something for Sunday evening dinner – these would fill the bill perfectly.

Once I had all my groceries put away, I seasoned them with a bit of salt and peper and put them on the grill, turning them every 3 -4 minutes and grilling them on all 4 sides for a total of 12 minutes (with the lid open).

Dinner is served!

image

I also picked up several other items from this section.  When I got home I repackaged them using my “Food Saver” (I love that thing!), and popped them in the freezer for future use.

What are you having for dinner?

