Infamous “Nieman Marcus Cookies”

Have you ever heard or read about the “urban legend” story regarding the $250 cookie recipe from Neiman Marcus?

According to Neiman Marcus (via my web search), they deny ever charging anyone for their cookie recipe(s); but this urban legend and cookie recipe persists in turning up on the internet, and, well, on my blog today too.  Why you ask?  Well, mostly because I have made these Urban Legend Neiman Marcus cookies, and they really are great!  Every time I make them I get compliments on how good they are, along with requests for the recipe, and an inquiry as to what is my “secret” ingredient that makes them so yummy (it’s the ground oatmeal).

If this recipe can be found all over the web, why am I reprinting it here? Well, because I recently made these cookies for my Church’s upcoming annual Founders Day Fundraiser/Celebration.

Now, to make matters even more confusing, Neiman Marcus has made “public” a chocolate cookie recipe that they claim is “the original” cookie recipe, in an attempt to put the legend to rest (you can find it on the internet by simply googling Neiman Marcus Cookie Recipe) – I find only one problem with this – The Neiman Marcus recipe they have shared was only created about 12 years ago – the “urban legend” recipe has been around for at least a couple generations, and was originally passed around via regular USPS mail, not the internet.  PLUS – Neiman Marcus has been making their chocolate chip cookies for more than 12 years…

So, which is really true?  Well, the only way we will ever know is if someone with a very old “first edition” Neiman Marcus cookbook that has the original real recipe in it comes forward.   I have looked over the “Real Neiman Marcus Cookie Recipe” and have to tell you, it doesn’t sound nearly as delish as this one.

Any hoo – regardless of the origination of this recipe – I have to admit – these are THE BEST chocolate chip cookies I have ever made.  🙂

This recipe is a basically combination of an oatmeal cookie (sans the spices, and the oatmeal is ground into a fine powder), a chunky chocolate cookie, and a chocolate chip cookie, with nuts.

I have made this with and without the nuts in the past, both are equally delicious.

Below is the original recipe, but instead of a Hershey chocolate bar, I use dark chocolate (60-65% cocoa) instead.

It is easily halved as well – which I do when I often make them.  In fact, you could make the dough, sans the nuts, divide it in half, and then add half the amount of nuts to one half of the dough, so you get “two kinds of cookies” out of one. 🙂

Neiman Marcus Cookie Recipe

(Recipe may be halved):
2 cups butter
4 cups flour
2 tsp. soda
2 cups sugar
5 cups blended oatmeal**
24 oz. chocolate chips
2 cups brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 8 oz. Hershey Bar (grated) or chopped, actually, I put the chocolate bar in a plastic freezer bag and pound it with the smooth side of my meat mallot until I get the general size of chunks that I want
4 eggs
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. vanilla
3 cups chopped nuts (your choice)

** Measure oatmeal and blend in a blender to a fine powder. Cream the butter and both sugars. Add eggs and vanilla; mix together with flour, oatmeal, salt, baking powder, and soda. Add chocolate chips, Hershey Bar and nuts. Roll into balls and place two inches apart on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Makes 112 cookies.

This is also a great recipe to make ahead, and freeze the cookie dough in pre-formed balls on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  When they are frozen, transfer them to a freezer bag.  When you are in the mood for the cookies, take out 6 – 12 cookie balls and bake them.  No need to defrost, just bake them for a couple minutes longer than indicated above – but keep a close eye on the cookies, so you don’t over bake them (unless you like crunchy cookies).  🙂

6 responses

  1. Gosh ! I thought I had the original recipe:) But my recipe doesn’t look anything like this one.. although this one looks fabulous:) Isn’t it funny how “original” recipes end up being quite different from different sources:) I don’t remember where I found my “original” recipe from but they claimed it was “original”… good thing I didn’t pay for it..LOL 🙂

    • Ha ha! Does your recipe include expresso? If so, it may be the NM recipe that they published on 2000. In my research, the recipe I use is repeated all over the place on thee internet along with the story that the recipe cost the person $250.

      • It does include espresso:) They are some of the best cookies ever:) In fact…. I used to take them to the car dealership when I had to get the car tuned up, and they always made sure I was first to get everything done… sorry other people in line.. guess you should have brought the techs Neiman Marcus Cookies:)

      • It does include espresso:) They are some of the best cookies ever:) In fact…. I used to take them to the car dealership when I had to get the car tuned up, and they always made sure I was first to get everything done… sorry other people in line.. guess you should have brought the techs Neiman Marcus Cookies:)

What are you having for dinner?

