Calzones

Tonight I was in the mood for pizza, but decided instead to give making calzones a try. 

Calzones may sound daunting to make, but they are really easy to make.  You can make them any size you want.   Make them small, and make multiple calzones to reheat for lunches or a quick dinner with a nice salad.

When I was growing up my mom always bought “Jiffy” brand pizza dough mix.  They still make it, and it was only 69 cents at my local grocers. 

You can used canned toppings ( mushrooms, roasted peppers, pickled peppers, etc) of you want.  I prefer to start with fresh produce.  I dis “cheat” and picked up a bag of shredded Italian cheese.  🙂

image

I make my pizzas and calzones on my pizza stone.  As you can see, it it very well “seasoned” as we say on the cooking world.  I have had my pizza stone for over 20 years, and I love the way my pizza crusts come out nice and crispy on the bottom.

My stuffings included onions, mushrooms, green and red pepper, all of which I sauteed for about 5 minutes; pepperoni and the shredded Italian cheeses.

I preheat the oven, with the pizza stone in it, to 500*. 

Assemble the calzones by hand stretching the dough gently into a circle, add toppings on 1/3 of the dough leaving an edge to crimp it shut and enough dough to stretch over the top without tearing it.

Set it on the hot pizza stone, and bake for 5 minutes.  Then brush a small amount of olive oil over the top of the calzones and bake for another 5 minutes.

image

Serve with your favorite sauce.  Marinara, Alfredo, pink sauce, etc. or no sauce at all.

image

I had some marinara and Alfredo.sauce that I combined to make a pink sauce for mine tonight.

Whatever your favorite pizza toppings, they can be your calzone stuffing.

2 responses

What are you having for dinner?

