YUM! Love any variation on oatmeal cookies!

The Back 40

I never thought much of oatmeal cookies when I was growing up. I always preferred chocolate chip or some other kind of chocolate.

But lately, I have been craving oatmeal cookies. I suspect it’s because I’ve been reading about low-glycemic diets, and most of the books say that if you’re going to eat a cookie, oatmeal is the best choice.

I made a batch of cookies a week or so ago with dried cherries. I ate the first one when it was still hot from the over and burned my mouth. After that, I got a grip and limited myself to one a day. They were really good.

Oatmeal and cherry cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup 7-grain or whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated…

View original post 103 more words

What are you having for dinner?

