Slow Cooker Ribs

A couple weeks ago I picked up a family pack of boneless ribs and promptly froze them.  I have been wanting to do something with them, but it seems to be so much work to make the ribs the “traditional” way (i.e. bake them in the oven then finish them off on the grill).  My mom used to boil them first, then bake them in the oven and finish them off under the broiler.  I just didn’t want to spend that much time in the kitchen, or heat up the house with the summer temps hovering around the 100* mark.

So, what to do??  Well, some of my friends say they make their ribs in the slow-cooker (aka crock-pot), but I had never done this before.  So, of course I did a little research.  It sure sounds rather simple.

Place the ribs in the slow-cooker, smother them in BBQ sauce, turn onto low, and let them cook away all day long.  So, that is what I did.

I cheated a bit, usually, I would even make my own BBQ sauce, but I have several store bought sauces that I need to use up.  I used a Sweet Baby Ray’s Chipotle BBQ sauce (which is sweet with a little kick of spice), then I spiced it up a bit more with some Habanaro sauce I bought from a family owned orchard store in Colorado a couple of years ago when I was visiting friends in the Crested Butte area.

They are cooking away as I type.

Come back this evening for a picture of them in their final state and a review of how they turned out!

UPDATE:

So, here is the finished ribs. They were pretty tasty.

image

What are you having for dinner?

