French Onion Soup…sort of

Well, I had a couple of small onions, and three rather large leeks that I needed to use before they went bad, so I decided to improvise.

Chopped and cleaned both the onions and the leeks.  Sauteed them for about 1/2 hour until they were well carmelized.  Added two garlic cloves, minced and cooked until the garlic was fragrant.  I didn’t have any beef broth in the house, so I decided to use the beef bouillon granules that I had in the pantry.  Made 5 cups bouillon, and added that to the leek/onions.  Let it simmer for 15 minutes.  Added 1 teaspoon corn starch diaolved in a little water to thicken the soup just a bit. 

For croutons/bread I toasted a piece of homemade sourdough bread and cut it into pieces. 

Ladeled soup into bowl, topped with bread and some shredded cheese I had.

image

I also made a simple cucumber tomato and onion salad of sorts.  Just chopped them up, tossed with a little bit of olive oil, salt, pepper and chopped basil.  I seeded the cucumber as well. Toasted sourdough with goat cheese to go along with the salad. YUM!

image

What are you having for dinner?

