Peach Melba Muffins

I chose this recipe for yesterday’s muffins because I still had some red raspberries left in the feezer I wanted to use.

The original recipe called for two fresh peaches chopped.  I didn’t have any peaches but I did have some peach preserves in the fridgerator that I wanted to use up as well.  The recipe called for the peaches to be added to the batter, but since I was using preserves, I opted to mix that with the raspberries.  In retrospect, I think it would have been fine to put the preserves in the batter instead of with the raspberries, it would help to make the muffin a bit more moist.  These still turned out great, and because I put the preserves with the raspberries, I had some of the filling left over, so you can always spoon a bit of the raspberry/peach preserves on the muffins if you want more fruit.  🙂

Peach Melba Muffins
 adopted from the Williams-Sonoma Muffins cookbook

1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries (unthawed)

1/2 cup sugar

1 tablespoon berry liquer such as Chambord or raspberry vinegar (I happen to have Chambord on hand as well – a definite plus – I really like that liquer)

2 cups all purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

6 tablespoons melted butter

1 cup milk

1 cup peach preserves

1/2 cup chopped almonds (I had whole almonds on hand so I chopped them, you could use slivered almonds – that is what the original recipe called for)

Preheat oven to 375*

Grease muffin tin, or line with cupcake liners

Toss raspberries with liqueur and peach preserves and set aside.

Mix all dry ingredients together in one bowl.

In another bowl mix all wet ingredients together (except the raspberry mixture).

Mix wet and dry ingredients together, just until evenly moistened. no more than 15 – 20 strokes.  batter will be lumpy

Spoon batter into muffin tin cups about 1/2 way.  Add a bit of the raspberry mixture and top with more batter to fill the cup.  Sprinkle with almond pieces.

Bake until golden brown, dry and springy to the touch.  toothpick inserted in center should come out clean.  25 – 20 minutes.

Cool in muffin tin on wire rack for 5 minutes or so, remove and let cool completely on wire rack.  Serv warm or at room temperature with butter, or left over raspberry mixture.

Makes 12 muffins.

What are you having for dinner?

