Blackberry/Red Raspberry Muffins

Today’s muffin of choice is a delicious blackberry muffin recipe.  Why did I choose this recipe?  Well, I have some frozen blackberries in the freezer that I need to use.  🙂

In my usual fashion, this recipe will be tweaked a bit.  1) I don’t think I have enough blackberries that the recipe calls for, and 2) I have some red raspberries that I need to use up as well. So… these muffins will be a combination of black and red berries.  I also thought I had some lemon zest in the freezer that I could use, but what I found was orange zest, so I just used that.  End result, a very interesting and yummy muffin!

My version is a variation on the Blackberry Muffin recipe found in the Williams-Sonoma Muffins cookbook.

Blackberry / Raspberry Muffins
Makes 12 muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

grated lemon zest from orange (original recipe called for lemon zest, but I didn’t have a lemon, or any zest, so I used that I had – orange zest)

1 large egg

5 Tablespoons unsalted and melted butter

1 cup buttermilk

2 cups fresh berries or 2 1/2 cups frozen unsweetened berries, FROZEN

If you do not have buttermilk, you can make “sour milk” at home instead of spending money on buying it and then not using it by the use by date.  Take 1 tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a measuring cup.  Add milk to make 1 cup.  let sit for 15 minutes. Stir and use in place of store-bought buttermilk.  I do this a lot, and it saves me time (travel to the store) and $$ as well.

Preheat oven to 375*

Line 12 cup muffin tins with cupcake liners, or spray with cooking spray or grease with butter.

Stir together all dry ingredients in one bowl (including lemon zest).

In another bowl whisk together all wet ingredients (except berries).

Mix to incorporate until all dry ingredients are wet.  Do not overmix.  Batter will be lumpy.

Fold in berries to evenly distribute through batter. Taking care not to break the berries.

Spoon batter into muffin cups, filling to a bit above the rim.  Bake until golden brown, dry and springy to the touch.  25-30 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin should come out clean.

Cool in muffin tin on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Remove and completely cool on wire rack.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

What is your favorite berry filled muffin?

2 responses

What are you having for dinner?

