Sour Cherry Muffins

June 3rd, day 2 of “A Muffin A Day”.  Today’s muffin – Sour Cherry Muffins.

I took my inspiration for this muffin from the Williams-Sonoma Muffin cookbook.

I have heard a lot about substituting honey for sugar in recipes, but have never tried it before, so today, for this recipe, I decided to do a little research to understand how to do the substitution, and give it a try.  I would say, I think it was a success.

Since honey is sweeter than sugar, you need to use 25% less honey in recipes, and add about 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (to neutralize the acidity of the honey).  I also noted in my research that if you are more than 2 cups of sugar, you should reduce the amount of honey by 33%.

The recipe in the cookbook included a coconut streusel; but I don’t like coconut, so instead I just sprinkled the muffins with a bit of granulated sugar before popping them in the oven.

In addition to substituting honey for the sugar, I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, next time I would probably leave it out. They will be just as good with or without it.

Using honey instead of sugar gives the muffins an interesting flavor, I like it, but then I love honey.  🙂

The recipe calls for straining the cherries, and letting them “dry out” a bit, next time I would just scoop them from the container and leave a bit of the “sauce/filling” as I think that would add more cherry flavor to them.

Here is my version of the recipe, as I made them today.

Sour Cherry Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup honey (substituted for the 1/2 cup sugar in the original recipe)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 cup butter, melted

2 large eggs

1 cup milk (I used 1%)

can/jar of tart red cherry pie filling, drained, and tried on paper towels

Preheat oven to 350* (If using sugar, temp is 375* )

line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper cupcake/muffin liners

Stir together all dry ingredients

in a separate bowl, stir together all wet ingredients, except cherries

Make well in dry ingredients and add wet ingredients.  Mix until well incorporated and smooth.

Spoon batter into each muffin tin, only filling 1/3 of the way.  Add several cherries to each muffin, then spoon a little more batter over cherries, add a few more cherries and spoon batter over them, so that muffin tins are filled to the top.  Sprinkle with a bit of granulated sugar, or raw sugar if you prefer the larger grains.

Bake until golden, dry, and springy to the touch, 20 – 25 minutes.  cool 10 minutes on a wire rack, remove muffins and cool completely on wire rack.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes 12 muffins.

One response

What are you having for dinner?

