Banana Muffins

A couple years ago I started a “30 days of muffins”, but never finished.

I think I am going to give it another try.  Starting June 2nd with Banana Muffins.

I have a muffins recipe book from Williams-Sonoma that I bought many years ago.  It has a lot of great muffin, coffee cake and bread recipes in it, but I hardly use it.  So (once again) I am going to attempt to make a recipe a day out of this book.  I know there are a few that I will not be interested in making, so up front I’m admitting that I will not make every recipe in the book, but I my goal is to make most of them.

Of course, I never follow a recipe “to the tee”… so some changes will inevitably be made from the version in the book.

Oh, and there are a couple of weekends this month that I will be out of town.  One camping with friends at the Guadelupe River in Texas (So maybe I will double up and make some extras to share with the group that is going…we will see how ambitious I am), and another weekend that I am going to Dallas to visit relatives (I may take the book with me and make muffins for the family up there too, again, no commitments on my end…)  🙂

Here are the banana muffins I made on June 2nd.

Banana Nut Muffins

1 1/2 cups allpurpose flour ( since I used 3 bananas, I wasn’t particular about measuring perfect 1 1/2 cups flour – in fact, I know I used a bit more – just scooped the flour into the measuring cup with a bit more – didn’t level it off)

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup crushed/chopped pecans ( I take my meat mallot, put the nuts in a plastic baggie, and pound away until the pieces are about the size I want)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon course kosher salt (recipe calls for regular salt)

1/2 cup olive oil (you can use any oil you have on hand. I like using olive oil, or grapeseed oil)

1 large egg

3 bananas (I love fruity muffins!)

3 tablespoons buttermilk

Preheat oven to 357*F  (190*C).  Grease a dozen standard muffin cups, or line them with cupcake liners.  I use the liners – so much easier!

Mix together all the dry ingredients in one bowl (including the nuts).

Mix together all the wet ingredients in one bowl.

Mix the wet and dry ingredients together until well combined.

Spoon batter into muffin cups, and bake for 20 – 25 minutes.  Muffins are done when toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Remove from oven and let cool in tin, on cooling rack for 10 minutes.  Remove from tin and cool a bit more.  Serve warm, or at room temperature.

These muffins freeze well.  Let cool completely, put in freezer bag and freeze.  Allow to thaw to room temp. before serving.

Makes 10 – 12 muffins.

One response

What are you having for dinner?

