Tilapia Brown Rice and Stir-fried Veggies

This weekend I went to the Farmers’ Market and picked up onions, yellow beans, squash, and baby bok choy.  The thing I love moat about our market is that everything that is sold there has to be grown within 180 miles of us, so everything is definitely locally grown.  There are also several backyard gardeners that bring their veggies and plant starts to sell.  I always try to buy at least 1 thing from these venders.

Tonight I decided to make some brown rice, and stir fry up some of those veggies.  As an afterthought I decided to pan fry a piece of Tilapia to get some protein on my player as well.

I started out with a baby spinach salad with some creamy cilantro dressing that I also picked up at the market.

Th
While the brown rice was cooking, I chopped up all the veggies and pulled out my wok.  Once I got the veggies cooking I realized I was out of soy sauce and teriaki sauce…so what to do??  Well, I have this fabulous Balsamic vinegar, so I decided to use a bit of that and see how it would turn out… Turns out it was great on the veggies, along with a bit of salt and pepper.

Once the veggies were done I transfered them to a plate and fried the dish in the wok as well, with just a bit of oil, salt and pepper.  Should have used some flour to keep the dish from sticking to the pan…but it wasn’t too bad.

image

What are you having for dinner?

