Texas Bay Shrimp Cocktail

Today I came across a recipe card from Texas Dept. of Agriculture – Commisioner Food Staples (www.gotexan.org) with a recipe for shrimp cocktail, the way it is made in Texas.  I love this stuff, and get it at restaurants all the time.  I don’t remember where I picked up the card, probably at one of the grocery stores in Houston some time ago (H.E.B. probably).    And so… while I have a bunch of veggies, etc. in the fridge, I was thinking about this all day… There is only one thing to do when you have a craving like that – indulge it.  🙂

Everything I picked up at the grocery store was on sale too… including the shrimp!  (5.99/#)!!  I forgot to get jalapeno pepper, so in my usual fashion – I improvised.  I used some redand orange small sweet/spicy peppers instead of the jalapeno, and added a dash of cayanne pepper too.  I also put cayenne pepper in the water I boiled the shrimp in.

Texas Bay Shrimp Cocktail

2 1/2cups cocktail sauce
2 cups chopped tomatoes (I used Roma tomatoes – they are more meaty, less seeds…)
1/2 (Texas) Jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped into small pieces (I used small red and yellow peppers instead
2 T lime juice
1 T lime peel, grated (I used a microplane and zested the lime instead)
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp, black pepper (or you could use cayenne pepper as I did, or maybe both…)
1 T fresh chopped cilantro
1# cooked texas shrimp, peeled and cut into large pieces about 1/2 – 1 ” in length
1 Avocado cut into large pieces (I added this to the recipe…)

1 cup Torilla chips (I bought pita chips – then discovered they were stale… YUCK!)  I knew I should have made my own fresh chips…
Watermelon for garnish (optional)
Cilantro for garnish

In a bowl, combine everything except the shrimpn and avocado. Mix well until blended and chill.  Fold in shrimp and avocado.  garnish with torilla chips, watermelon and chilantro.  Makes 6 servings.

A slice of pear pie I made last night for dessert…

What are you having for dinner?

