Sweet & Sour Chicken

Tonight I was in the mood for something Asian with noodles. I was thinking something like Pad Thai, but instead I found a recipe in a cookbook called “SIMPLY COLORADO” that my sister-in-law Sarah gave to me a long time ago.  Of course I tweeked it a bit, based on what I had in the house.  I swapped out snap peas for carrots, used yellow sweet pepper, added some red jalapeno pepper to give it a slight spicy kick.

Instead of brown rice, I used spaghetti noodles (since I didn’t have rice noodles).
3/4 # boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into cubes
1 T oil
Bunch of snap peas (or carrots, or other veggie(s) you have on hand)
1 Jalapeno pepper chopped into small bits
Pineapple rings (I used 2), cut into small chunks
pineappe juice
1 T cornstarch
1/8 cup low sodium soy sauce
3T brown sugar
3T vinegar
1/2 teaspoon ginger

I used my wok to make this dish, but you could certainly use any sort of large pan you have on hand.

Cook noodles (or rice) according to package directions.

In a wok, heat oil and brown the chicken until cooked through.

 Add veggies and cook a couple more minutes.  Add peppers, pineapple and juice.

Combine cornstarch, soy sauce, brown sugar, vinegar and ginger, mix well and add to wok.  bring to a boil stirring constantly (the sauce will thicken up quickly).  If the sauce gets too thick, add some water to thin it out a bit.  If you put in too much water, don’t worry, just cook until the sauce thickens up some more.

Serve over hot noodles.  Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds.

2 responses

What are you having for dinner?

