Grandma’s Valentine’s Day Cookies

I get a lot of compliments and requests from my friends for my recipe for these cookies.

They are sort of like “linzer” cookies, but made without all the sugar on top. And a whole lot better (according to my friends).

The recipe is from my Grandmother, with my own little twist.  They are a “roll out cookie”, as you can tell.  My grandma would simply cut them out with a heart-shaped cookie cutter.  I decided it would be fun to cut out the center of 1/2 of them; use jam, and make them like a Linzer Cookie.  Rather than combining all the small hearts that were cut out of the center of the larger ones, I baked those too; and put jam between them to make little cookies.  can see that I also cut tiny hearts out of some of the smaller cookies too.  I also took some of the left over dough and made those tiny hearts on the plate as well.  They are great for little kids!

This recipe can also be used to make any sort of holiday cookie – Christmas, Easter, St Patty’s day, etc.

Grandma’s Valentine’s Day Cookies

1 cup butter
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons milk

Your choice of jam for the filling.  (I have used red currant, strawberry, and cherry jams, it just depends on what I have on hand – and since I make them for Valentine’s day, I use a red jam).

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Add egg and beat well.

Add remaining ingredients and mix well.

Wrap in wax paper and chill several hours or overnight.  If you refridgerate the dough overnhight, take from refridgerator and let it set out of 15-30 minutes until it is soft enough to roll out without cracking along the sides.

Roll to 1/8 inch thick on floured board and cut with heart shaped cookie cutter.  If you wish, using a smaller cookie cutter, cut out the middle of 1/2 of the cookies to use a the tops.

Place on un-greased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.

Instead of using jam and making cookie sandwiches you could do as my grandma did and ice cookies with favorite confectioners’ sugar icing with red coloring added).

Another alternative would be not to cut out the centers of the cookies, use the jam to make cookie sandwiches AND ice them as well.  🙂

Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

5 responses

What are you having for dinner?

