Butternut Squash Rissoto with Spicy Cream Sauce

I didn’t post anything last night, but I did make an interesting dinner.  This was inspired by another recipe from the “Simply Colorado” Cookbook from my sister-in-law Sarah.  The sauce was inspired by a Fettuccine with Sprimp Sauce recipe.

I took some of the butternut squash gnocchi that I made a few days ago, and cut them up into little bits, like Rissoto.  In order to help the pieces not stick together I tossed them with a little bit of flour and cut them on a board with flour on it.  The pasta was then boiled for 4 – 5 minutes, until done.

"Rissoto" after it was cooked

Spicy Cream Sauce

1 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup white wine
1/4 teaspoon dried whole marjoram
dash of pepper
1 Jalapeno pepper, diced into small pieces
1 T cornstarch
1 cup milk (the recipe calls for skim milk, but I just used what I have on hand – 1%)
2 slices provolone cheese (recipe calls for 2 slices of swiss cheese – I would suggest you use whatever sliced cheese you have on hand, because that is the cheese you like)
2 T snipped chives or green onion tips (would you believe it – I have chives in my herb garden, but completely forgot about them!! So I didn’t use any)

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Combine chicken broth, wine, marjoram, jalapeno pepper and pepper in a saucepan.  Bring to a full boil and boil until sauce is reduced to about 1/2 cup.

Combine cornstarch and milk., add to reduction in the saucepan.  Using an immersion blender, blend the mixture to further chop up the jalapeno pepper.  Cook sauce until it thickens and is bubbly.

image

Pour some of the sause over the rissoto and serve.

Sorry, I ate this before I realized I forgot to take a picture of the final dish… 🙂   It was delish!

What are you having for dinner?

