Pan Seared Ahi Tuna Sandwich

Yesterday I picked up some Ahi Tuna from Costco.  I decided I wanted to make some of it for dinner tonight, so I did a little internet research to find a good recipe that included coleslaw (I have 2 whole heads of cabbage that I have to use…).

I came across a pretty good recipe at http://mykitchenmoovement.squarespace.com

I did a little modifying to the recipe because I was out of garlic, so I just omitted it completely.  It was still very good.  I also cut the recipe to 1/4 as well.

COLESLAW

1/4 cabbage, chopped

1 carrot, peeled and shredded

DRESSING

1/2 cup mayonaise
1/4 up cider vinegar
3/4 teaspoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon grated onion
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon celary salt

You may want to modify the amounts of the above once you have mixed them all together to your own liking.  I actually added a bit more celary salt.   Once dressing is mixed together, pour over cabbage and carrot mixture and set aside for the flavors to blend.

Heat a skillet with 1 teaspoon oil until very hot.  Pat tuna dry with paper towel, coat with a bit of oil, season with salt/pepper.  Sear tuna on each side.  The length of time will depend on the thickness of the tuna steak.  Mine was a bit thin, so I didn’t sear it for very long.

Place tuna on your favorite toasted bread/bun, top with coleslaw.  I used toasted Jewish Rye bread, simply because that is what I had on hand.

One response

  1. AWESOME dinner! We LOVE Tuna! I’ve got 2 1/2 heads of cabbage right now. I’ve got a Cole Slaw recipe that we had earlier in the week to post about (you’ll probably like it, it’s a Southwestern recipe), another Cole Slaw recipe to make, and at least two more dishes later this week. Good thing we like cabbage, lol!

What are you having for dinner?

