Black Bean Burgers and hash browns

I have been wanting to yet my hand at black bean burgers for a while.  So tonight I hopped onto allrecipes.com for some inspiration.I found a recipe that included shredded sweet potatoes, but o didn’t have that in the house.  I do have a LOT of carrots.  So I improvised and created ly own version of the burgers.  I also modified their sauce as well using what I had in the house.

image

Black Bean Burgers With Lemon Jalapeno Pepper Cream Sauce

Be adventurous with this recipe, change up the add-ins based on what you have in the fridge.

Makes 3-4 patties

Dried garlic, about 1/2 teaspoon
1/2 to 1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped   Note: depending on how much heat/kick you want ( I had red jalapeno peppers that r hotter than the green ones, so I used 1/2 pepper).
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
Salt pepper to taste
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1/2 beaten egg
1/4 cup dried bread crumbs

Mash beans, add all ingredients to beans and mix together. Add additional bread crumbs if too wet

Broil for 8 minutes on foil lined and greased sheet.  Turn and Broil 3 minutes more, until crispy.

Lemon Jalapeno Sour Cream Sauce

1/4 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 finely chopped jalapeno
Salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything together and let set while burgers are cooking

Rosemary Hash Browns
Salt pepper and crushed rosemary
Frozen hash browns
Olive oil

Season hash browns to your liking.  Heat oil in a skillet and cook hash browns to your liking.

What are you having for dinner?

