Carrot Cookies

Yes, yes, I know, this isn’t dinner… but wait, it does have all of the food groups!  fruits/veggies – carrots and raisins, dairy – butter, protien – eggs, carbs – sugar/flour, fiber – oatmeal.  So, one could say that these cookies could possibly make a well rounded meal… okay – so that is my story, and I am sticking to it!  🙂

I made these cookies for my neighbor’s birthday.  She loves carrot cake, so, I thought, mmmm, how about carrot cookies?

 

CARROT COOKIES

1/2 c. butter
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
2 c. flour
2 eggs
2 tsp. baking power
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
2 c. oatmeal – Place oatmeal in food processor and pulse several times to chop the oatmeal into smaller pieces, you should have a mixture of pieces of oatmeal and oatmeal flour.  Do not over process the oatmeal, otherwise you will have oat flour; which is okay, if you want the oatmeal that way, but I like having the pieces of oatmeal in the cookies, it gives them a nice texture. .
1 c. raisins
1 c. raw carrots, grated, you can manually grate them, but I find using my food processor for this purpose so much easier!

image

1 c. nuts, chopped, easy peasy – put the nuts in a baggie, squish to get as much air out as possible, and pound nuts with a meat mallet until the chopped consistency you like!

image

Cream together the butter and sugars well. Add eggs and beat well.  Add baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg, blend well.

 

Mix together flour and oatmeal and combine with creamed mixture. Stir in the raisins, grated carrots, and nuts. Drop by large rounded tablespoonfuls onto lightly greased cookie sheet

image/>

Bake in a preheated 350°F oven 25 to 30 minutes or until browned along edges.  If you are using a convection oven, lower temp by 25 degrees and watch the time closely.  I started with 20 minutes and adjusted from there.


7 responses

  1. Pingback: “Cookies Are The New Cupcake” From the Readers Edition Part 2 « Baker Bettie

    • Thanks. I used to make carrot cookies when I was growing up. I had a recipe from 4H, but could not find it when I decided to do this. This recipe is a combo of a few I found on the web.

What are you having for dinner?

