Hot Chili on a Chilly Night

Yesterday I picked up a few of the super hot peppers from the church garden.

Tiney Tiny Pepper

I was told these precious hot babies are great in chili, but only add one, because they pack a powerful hot punch.

As a result, I have been thinking about making chili since yesterday morning.  So, of course, for dinner?  Chili! 🙂

I decided to make a variation of my mom’s chili mac tonight.

1 tablespoon olive oil
1# lean ground beef
1 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 green pepper chopped
1/2 sweet red pepper chopped
1/2 yellow pepper, chopped
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 large carrot, chopped
1 large can crushed tomatoes and 1 can of water
1 15 oz. can of kidney beans, rinsed
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon dry ground mustard
1 tiny hot pepper
Salt and pepper to taste

Feel free to adjust the spices, and the veggies to your liking.

Heat olive oil in large pot, add onions and saute for a couple minutes.  Add garlic and saute another minute, add ground beef and brown.  When beef is browned, add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil.  Lower heat and simmer until carrots are tender, about 1/2 hour.  Serve over your choice of pasta and crackers. If you want, you can also sprinkle parmesan cheese on top too. Macaroni is great, but tonight I used liguine because that is what I had in the house.

image

As promised yesterday, I made the soft and fluffy lemon blueberry cookies I reblogged yesterday.  Boy are the great!  Be sure to check out Baker Bettie’s blog where I got this recipe.  She has a lot of other great recipes there too!

Lemon Blueberry Cookies

Lemon Blueberry Cookies

Lemon Blueberry Cookies

I also pulled some of the frozen puff pastries I made from the freezer and baked them.  This time instead of vanilla custard cream filling, I made chocolate custard filling. YUM, YUM!!  A big THANKS! to my neighbors, for graciously being my taste testersx and accepting my baked goods.

Chocolate Custard Cream Puffs

2 responses

  1. That Chili looks absolutely delicious!

    Is the name of that pepper really “Tiney”? If so, I’ll research and see if I can get my hands on some. It almost looks like a Piquin that we have in dry form. Mr. Foodie grinds them up and adds them to his “blends” that he creates from various peppers and chiles. I can take a fair amount of heat but he blows me away so I steer clear of his little jars that he keeps in the pantry, lol!

What are you having for dinner?

