Veal Parmesan With Steamed Broccoli and Cream Puffs for Dessert

So, I am tired of fish (already and it is just day 2 of lent).  Ha ha!  Seriously, I have been eating a lot of fish lately, not thinking about how much I would be eating during lent. 

So, tonight I decided on veal for dinner.   I had some thinly slices veal on the freezer that I took out several days ago that I needed to use.  The good thing is I had it in a foodsaver bag, so it kept well in the fridge.  I also had some marinara sauce from a couple days ago that I needed to use.  For my side, broccoli, steamed in chicken broth.  Steaming it this way gives it a really nice flavor.  I also sprinkled my favorite Balsamic vinegar on the broccoli.

To make the veal, I patted it dry, then lightly sprayed it with cooking spray, them dredged it through a mixture of flour, bread crumbs, and seasoning.  Then I sprayed it again and placed it on a foil lined pan and under the broiler for 3-5 minutes each side.  NOTE:  Do not use parchment paper, as it will start to burn due to the high heat of the broiler…I learned the hard way…) You need to watch it closely as your broiler may get hotter than mine. 

Once veal is cooked, remove from the oven, top with marinara and a slice of cheese ( I used provolone) and return to oven.  Cook under .broiler 1 – 2 minutes, until cheese melts, bubbles, and starts to brown.

image

For dessert, I made cream puffs earlier in the day.  They are delish!!

image

Yes, the puffs and the custard filling are homemade.  What prompted me to make these was the egg yolks I had left over from making scrambled eggs with just whites the other day.

What are you having for dinner?

