Chicken Parmesan

Tonight’s dinner was another quick and easy recipe.  When I think of chicken parmesan, I think of a complicated meal, but it really isn’t.  Just three main ingredients:  chicken, marinara sauce, and cheese. 

I took my chicken breast, skinned it, deboned it, and pounded it so that it was an even thickness.  Of course you can buy skinned deboned chicken breast, but Krogers had the ones I have on sale for 99 cents a pound.  Pounding the meat also tenderized the it very nicely too.

Next I placed it on a foil lined and oiled pan, salt and peppered the chicken to taste and placed it under the broiler for 10 minutes; after 10 minutes, I flipped the chicken and broiled it for another 5 minutes.

While the chicken was cooking, I made homemade marinara sauce with crushed tomatoes and a bit of Italian seasoning, placed on pot and simmered while the chicken cooked.

Once I got the marinara put together, I started on my veggie for the evening. Sauteed beans with onions.  I made them in my wok and they turned out great. 

Once the chicken finished cooking I put it on an oven proof plate, topped it with marinara sauce and a slice of provolone cheese, and returned it to the oven under the broiler for a couple minutes just until the cheese started to melt and turn brown.

I also added a little side of fruit.  Pear-sauce I made with some of the pears I froze last fall.  Very simple and easy.  Pears and some cinnamon.  Pureed with my immersion blender.  I know, I know, it looks like baby food, but hey, so does apple sauce…  🙂

image

One response

What are you having for dinner?

