Carrot Soup

A few years back there was a local chef selling his recently published cookbook at the farmers market.  They were also giving out samples of carrot soup.  I had never had carrot soup before, and it was wonderful.  I bought the book, thinking that the carrot soup recipe was in it.  But it wasn’t.  I still have the cookbook…have yet to make anything in it, though I did read it.  You see, I read cookbooks like other people read murder mysteries, romance novels, historical books, etc.  Seems I can’t get enough when it comes to cookbooks.  I have weened myself off of cooking magazines, though…  🙂

But I digress… Back to he carrot soup.  I have been looking for a recipe for some time, on and off…mostly off.  But today I brought home a couple of pounds of carrots from the church garden.  So what was I going to do with all those carrots?  Soup!! And off to do internet research I went.  I easily found a recipe that sounded very similar to what I recalled from the taste.of the carrot soup, and the explanation from the person who gave me the sample.  So yes, I made carrot soup today. It was my appetizer for dinner.

image

2#s carrots cleaned peeled and diced
1 onion chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
4 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
Cream, milk, yogurt, or cottage cheese, whichever you prefer
Pinch of nutmeg
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine carrots, salt and chicken broth (or water) and cook until tender and a bit mushy. Allow to cool a bit.

Saute onions in a bit of olive oil, add a little salt to help draw out the onion juice.  Cook until onion is translucent.  Add spices. 

Add onions to carrots and broth.  Either puree in a blender by batches, or puree using an immersion blender.  At this point you can cool the soup and put into the fridge.  According to the recipe, it is better the next day once the flavors are allowed to melee together.

To serve, heat soup and add a bit of one of the dairy items noted above and stir to combine.  Or, as I dis, I just added.a dollop of yogurt to the soup in my bowl.  You can also garnish with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Salad was bib lettuce from the church garden with Wild Cherry Balsamic Vinegar and olive oil from the Texas Hill Country Olive Oil Company in Dripping Slings Texas; feta cheese, and chopped roasted Hazelnuts.

image

image

I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this olive oil.  They have 3 varieties, and yes, you can taste.the difference in each of them, and oh you moat certainly can tell how fresh it is too!

image

The main entree tonight was fish, again.  This time I poached it in milk with a little bit of water, but first I sprinkled it with salt and pepper.  When serving the fish I sprinkled it with lemon juice. 

image

The Side dish tonight was sauteed asparagus, sprinkled with my favorite Balsamic vinegar I get from a family owned place in Colorado. It is the best I have ever had, a little for a a long way, and it is very sweet and does not have the usual strong vinegar undertones. plus they ship!

image

What are you having for dinner?

