Bountiful Harvest!

Broccoli flowers

Broccoli Flowers! This one shoot already went to flower, I brought this one home, can't wait to make something yummy with it!

One of the things that I LOVE about living in Houston, or generally south of the Mason Dixie Line, is that we have a year-round growing season.

Today, I went over to my church to help work in the garden that supports the food pantry the church has for the less fortunate.  We had SO MUCH to harvest that we all took a little bit of the harvest home with us.  You see, we had so much, that apparently the food pantry will not be able to get rid of it by next Saturday, when we harvest once more.

Today I brought home broccoli, cabbage, romaine lettuce, butter lettuce, carrots, snap peas, turnips and mustard greens.  Lots of mustard greens…

Snap Pea bushes

Snap Pea Bushes

Broccoli

Second round of harvesting the broccoli, you don't get one big head, but lots of littls shoots that are just as yummy as the first harvest

Cabbage!

Me with the cabbage harvest

Turnips! I have never made turnips before, so I will be doing a bit of research on how to make them.

Carrots!! A friend of mine said she has a delicious recipe for carrot soup. I had a taste of a fantastic one at the farmers market several years ago. Unfortunately, they didn't share their recipe. 😦

Oh, and these teeny, tiny red peppers that are considered “red gold” to be used extremely sparingly in salsas, soups, chili, or any spicy dish.

"Red Gold" Hot Hot Hot peppers!!

These babies are 1) so hot and 2) so popular down here, that Dick, the guy who is the garden “leader” takes them home, and puts a few in tiny plastic ziplock baggies so the folks at the food pantry don’t just hand the whole bag of them to one person.  I got 5 of these coveted babies.  Now I have to figure out what to use them in.  🙂"Red Gold" plant

Havesting the Red Gold hot peppers

The pictures are of the harvests, not of what I brought home myself.  🙂

So, the question is, what am I going to do with all the wonderful veggies I brought home?

1) stir fry some of them along with some of the veggies I picked up at the farmers market last week.

2) SOUP!  Carrot soup, broccoli soup, veggie soup, chicken soup with veggies.

3) Roasted root veggies with braised chicken or beef.

4) Going to do some research on the internet for more ideas of what I can make with them so my palate doesn’t get bored.  Ha ha!

Happy Cooking!

What are you having for dinner?

