Chicken Cauliflower Cheese Soup

image

image

image

Tonight I was reminded that I had a head of cauliflower in the fridge that I needed to use before it went bad.  I also picked up a holiday cookbook from Kohl’s that happened to have a recipe for Cauliflower Cheddar Soup.  Now I hardly ever follow a soup recipe, so why start now…
🙂

So, I sauteed an onion, added 1/4 cup flour and cooked a couple minutes longer.  Then I added 3-4 cups chicken broth and the cut up cauliflower.  Brought it to a boil and simmered 10 minutes.  Then I pureed the soup mixture, and added about a cup of velvetta cheese.  Oh, I also added a bit of garlic powder.

While the cauliflower was cooking I poached a chicken breast.  Chopped it up and then added it to the pureed cheesy cauliflower soup to boost the protien a bit.

Served the soup with homemade Rosemary Fennel Seed breadsticks. 

Made for a very tummy dinner with leftovers portioned individualally for lunch or dinner during the week.

What are you having for dinner?

