Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Soup

image

Tonight I decided to use some broccoli that I froze a couple of months ago.  I had been trying to decide what to do with it, then remembered I had some velvetta cheese in the pantry.

One chopped onion, sauteed in olive oil, couple tablespoons flour To help thickened the soup, couple cups chicken broth, one chicken breast-poached, chopped broccoli, velvetta cheese, a little garlic powder, and salt/pepper and wala!!  Dinner is served…with a slice of homemade bread that I made using the extra pizza dough I made the other day.

A special thanks to my friend Michelle Petschauer Spillman for sharing the recipe with me MANY years ago when we lived at Irish Hills and worked at Holy Cross together!

What are you having for dinner?

