Baked Eggplant Parm and Zucchini “sticks”

So,  a couple of weeks ago I went to the farmers market.  I love going there – the veggies are always so fresh, and you get a lot for your money.  They also keep for a long time in the fridge because they are so fresh; which is why I still have zucchini, yellow squash, and eggplant (among other veggies) still in my fridge.  I know I need to use them, or make something that can be canned, or frozen for future use before they go bad.

I got an idea from a “pin” on Pinterest from my niece Jessie, about making baked breaded zucchini sticks, and that was also my inspiration for the baked eggplant parmasan that I made tonight.

ZUCCHINI STICKS

1 – cut up the zucchini in 3 – 4 inch sticks, and pat them dry with a paper towel.
2 – toss them in a bit of flour
3 – dredge them in egg whites
4 – dredge them in a mixture of panko bread crumbs and italian seasoning

5 – place on foil lined and pam sprayed cookie sheet

6 – Baked in 450* oven for 20 minutes, or until nicely browned.  turn sticks 1/2 through for even browning.

BAKED EGGPLANT PARMASAN

I used the same process to bread the eggplant that I used for the zucchini sticks above. Prepped eggplant – skin cut off egg plant and cut into 1/4 inch thick slices

At this point you can take some of the eggplant and put it in the freezer.  Once it has frozen on the cookie sheet, transfer pieces to plastic bag and return to freezer for later use.   Bake eggplant for 20 minutes at 450*, turning 1/2 through.

Once eggplant is done, top with sauce of your choice, shredded cheese of your choice (I used mozzerella), and return to oven for about 5 minutes to melt cheese and let it lightly brown.

You can serve the eggplant parmesan with a side of pasta of your choice as well, or just have it by itself.

What are you having for dinner?

