Presentation is Everything

Forgot to publish this yesterday…

Okay , presentation isn’t everything, taste is important too, but presentation sure helps make the dish really appealing.

Today I felt ambitious.  I pulled out some gulf shrimp I picked up at the farmers market on Saturday, and made a spicy rub for it (chili power, garlic powder, cumin, corriander and pepper).  While I let the shrimp marinate in the rub (along with a little shrimp boil) I diced up a red potato and cleaned some asparagus; both were tossed with olive oil, crushed rosemary, sage and salt/pepper.  I put each in foil pouches to cook on the grill.

Once the grill was hot, I put the potatoes on the grill to cook (since they would take longer than the other stuff).  While the potatoes were cooking, I diced a tomato and tossed it with sunflower sprouts. I drizzeled the salad with cilantro vinaigarette dressing.  Then I scewered the shrimp and basted them with avocado oil.  I put the asparagus on the grill at the same time as the shrimp, and took the potatoes off.

When everything was done cooking I arranged the shrimp and potatoes around the salad, placed the asparagus on top of the salad, and topped the asparagus with one of the shrimp.  To top it all off, I made a margarita with Limon tequila and margarita mix, served over ice in a martini glass.  I suppose the presentation might have passed for restaurant fare, had I been more precise/careful about the drops of dressing around the edge of the plate…

Okay – so I couldn’t wait and ate the shrimp on top of the salad.

In any case, it was all YUMMY!

What are you having for dinner?

