Catching Up…

It has been some time since my last post.  After being out of town the end of July and again the first weekend of August, I just haven’t gotten around to posting much.  I have taken some pics of the meals I have created over the past few weeks.  Here is some of what I have been up to.

Chicken, asparagus, roasted potatoes and corn on the cob (from Indiana).  I made this shortly after returning to Houston from South Bend.

 

 

 

The weather in Houston has been scorching!  So what do I do today (high temp was at least 109*)… I baked.

A blueberry Turnover  and…

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Pear Pie….

Baked them in my convection toaster oven outside on the patio.

Everything was made from scratch.  I used olive oil in the pastry dough. it turned out great!

 

 

 

For dinner this evening I made the grilled chicken again.

Of course, I had to have a nice cold drink to keep me hydrated while cooking on the grill.  So I made a Watermelon Dacqueri (sp?).  It was great, but you know everything tastes even better when served in a fancy glass…  For this I used frozen watermelon (from Indiana), a brazilian liquor some lime juice and sugar.  Mmm, Mmmm, good! 

 

 

 

 

I got a great recipe for a marinade from my niece, Jessie.  Boy is it yummy!

 

 

 

 

I even used the marinade on the potatoes and green beans that I made as side dishes.

Everything was made on the grill.  The potatoes and green beans I made in foil pouches,

I timed them so that everything would finish on the grill at the same time.

 

 

Of course, I had to have a slice of the pear pie, with whipped cream, for dessert…

One response

What are you having for dinner?

