New twist with Artichoke Spinach Ravioli!

Remember the homemade artichoke spinach ravioli I made a few weeks back?  Well for dinner tonight I came up with a new twist!  Fried Artichoke Spinach Ravioli with homemade marinara sauce!  It was really yummy!!

What did I do?  Well, I took the frozen ravioli, dredged it through an eggwash and then crushed garlic/onion croutons (bread crumbs), and then fried them in a pan of grapeseed oil.  I like using grapeseed oil for a couple of reasons: 1) It has a high flashpoint, so you can heat it up without it smoking a lot or it starting to burn; 2) it is a polyunsaturated fat, and is one of the “good for you” oils; 3) it has a very light and mild flavor, so you don’t really taste the oil, just the food that you cooked in it!

For the marinara sauce I merely took a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, and using my immersion blender, pureed the tomatoes a bit, leaving them a little chunky.  To the pureed tomatoes I added 1 teaspoon of itialian seasoning, a little salt and pepper to taste.  NOTE:  My tomatoes did not have any added sodium – so be careful of over salting if you try this – make sure your canned tomatoes do not have any added sodium, otherwise your marinara sauce is going to be too salty.

I topped everything with freshly grated parmesan/ramano cheese.  Bon Apetite!

What are you having for dinner?

