Watermelon Rind Preserves

Watermelon Rind Preserves – I made this using the Indiana watermelon rinds I had after cutting up the fruit yesterday.  I now have 15 jars of watermelon rind preserves.  I will be giving it a try on my morning toast tomorrow!

I substituted 4 cups of splenda for part of the sugar, and added one package of geletin (to help the preserves thicken) since I lowered the sugar content.  I also used my immersion blender to puree the rinds so that what I have is a spreadable preseve rather than chunky preserves.  There are still some chunks, just not as much as one would have had I not pureed them.

4 pounds chopped watermelon rind

1  gallon water

1/2 cup salt

9 cups white sugar

8 cups water

4 teaspoons crushed cinnamon stick

4 teaspoons ground cloves

4 lemons – rinsed, sliced and seeded

1 dash red food coloring (optional)

            Directions

  1.                     Peel off the green part of the watermelon rind, and slice into 2 inch pieces. Soak the rind in a solution of 1 gallon water and 1/2 cup salt overnight.
  2.                     Remove rind from the salt water, and place in a stockpot with clean water to cover. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, and cook for about 30 minutes, or until the rind is tender. Drain.
  3.                     In a large pot, combine the sugar, 8 cups water, and sliced lemons. Tie the cinnamon and cloves into a cheesecloth bag, and place in the pot. Bring the syrup to a boil, and boil for 5 minutes. Add the rinds, and cook until transparent. Remove spice bag. Stir in red food coloring, if using. Ladle preserves into hot sterile jars, and process to seal.

What are you having for dinner?

