I’m Back!

Been gone for over a week, off to my hometown to visit family and attend my niece’s wedding.  We had a great time, but of course, I was not able to stay on my “eat only what I have in the house” plan.

I have done a pretty good job of cleaning out (i.e. eating from) my pantry, refridgerator, and freezer over the past couple of months, and so I will be buying more foods while still trying to eat as much of what I already have in the house as possible.  The biggest exception is fresh fruits and veggies.  They don’t stay fresh too long, and so I will be buying more of them.  BUT – If I have fruits and veggies in the house, I have to eat those first before I go off buying more.

So,keeping this in mind, on my last day in Indiana, I picked up a dozen ears of Indiana sweet corn (I swear there is no other corn as good as Indiana sweet corn!), and a seedless watermelon.  Yep, they traveled (by car) all the way back to Texas with me.  🙂

On the way home yesterday I stopped at a local fruit stand just north of Cleveland Texas and picked up a couple of things, all locally grown, and made.  I picked up some peaches, green beans, and roma tomatoes.  I also bought molasses, cucumber dill salad dressing, and tomato salad dressing.  All of these items were made by the owner of the fruit stand!

When I got home, I also discovered what i thought was a cucumber plant is actually a cantelope plant.  I had 3 fruits on the vine when I left.  One was eaten by the bugs, the other two are still good.  I picked one, and left the other on the vine to continue to grow.

So – what did I have for dinner last night?  Well, corn on the cob and tomatoes, of course.  I also had some leftover stuffed eggplant that I had for lunch while traveling yesterday.  For dessert – fresh peaches.

What’s for dinner tonight?  Corn on the cob, for sure!  Not certain about what else, though…

What are you having for dinner?

