Not your mom’s tuna dish

Tonight’s dinner is the result of my friend Larry Snyder’s posting of a Columbian recipe for canned tuna.  I know what most of you are thinking – canned tuna, really?  Is there anything other than my mom’s tuna casserole or tuna salad sandwiches that can be made out of that stuff?  The answer is YES – and it was REALLY GOOD!

Earlier today I also made homemade pasta, and used that as well for tonight’s dinner. 

So, what did I do with the tuna?  Basically, I made tuna cakes (like a crab cake, but with canned tuna).  I made them using 1 can of tuna, 1 egg, 3/8 cups bread crumbs, salt, pepper, 1/2 Tablespoon lime juice, 1/4 cup finely chopped onion.  At the end I decided to put in a dash of ground red pepper to give it a little spice (YUM).  Then I pan fried them in grapeseed oil.  I use grapeseed oil when I fry – it has a high flashpoint so it doesn’t burn or start to smoke easily, and it is a “good for you” oil.   I cooked up the angel hair pasta that I made earlier today, tossed it with homemade pesto (thinned a bit with some of the pasta water), sliced up a fresh tomato and drizzeled it with my yummy Texas olive oil and wala!  Dinner is served!

Something I would do differently next time (and there will be a next time) – I will add chopped green peppers, and jalapeno peppers as well.

What are you having for dinner?

