Pantry Inventory

Are you amazed at what you find lurking in your pantry when you finally get around to better organizing it?  I re-organize my pantry probably a couple times a year.  It starts out nice and neat, but it always ends up a bit of a mess.

Well, with this “dining at home” and “eating what you have” project, I am not only organizing but taking stock/inventory of what I have so I can plan what I will be eating over the next few weeks – or maybe longer…

Some of the things I found in my pantry (besides the basics like flour, suger, corn starch, etc.)

LOTS of oatmeal – not a surprise, I eat it for breakfast almost every day.
LOTS of teas – several boxes of green tea (not sure why I kept buying more, but I will be drinking lots of iced tea in the coming month(s)).
Several large bags of splenda – apparently I didn’t think I was out and bought another box from COSTCO, only to get home and find some stashed away…
Jello – several boxes – they will go fast
Cream of Chicken Soup
Cream of Mushroon Soup
Canned tomatoes
Canned Black Beans
Canned kidney beans
Canned corn
HUGE jar of Artichoke hearts – 65 oz…what was I thinking??
1 can of Hearts of Palm – again.. ?? I think I got this when I was on an asian food kick… now to figure out what to make with it… ideas welcome here!

Way too much long grain rice
a huge container of animal crackers
big box of individual portion microwave popcorn
lotsa pasta
LOTS and LOTS of dark chocolate, white chocolate, and cocoa (I bought this around the holidays, but didn’t use nearly as much as I thought I would)
Nuts (walnuts, almonds, cashews, pecans, macadamia)
Many jars of various jams/fruit preserves
pumpkin butter
pear butter
Several bottles of various BBQ sauces
Fancy/unusual hot sauces
canned tuna
canned turkey breast
cake mix
wine – lots of red wine… 🙂 this will not go to waste…
Big box of stuffing mix
lots of dried mixed (15 varieties) beans – not sure if they are any good, but gonna soak some overnight and find out…
Gallon of Texas Olive Oil (okay, not so unusual, I LOVE this stuff and use it OFTEN!)

What had to be thrown out??  Pancake mix – had bugs in it – yuck!  I was surprised that none of the flours that I have (cake, self rising, all purpose) had any bugs.

Well, for the most part – there you have it, my pantry inventory.  I didn’t include the spice rack that hangs top to bottom on the door, and YES, it is full of spices.  I keep this organized all the time – alphabetical… stop laughing…. I know what I have, and can find the spices I need easily.  🙂

What are you having for dinner?

